Categorization of stem cell


Categorization of stem cell


1. Embryonic Stem Cells
They are master cells in the body that have the ability to transform into any cell or tissue.
(1) Fertilized egg : IVF
(2) Unfertilized egg : Egg donation
(3) Fetal Stem Cell혻: can be get by miscarriage or abortions.


2. Adult Stem Cells : about 80 types


  • Adipose derived Stem Cells
  • Bone Marrow derived Mesenchymal Stem Cells
  • Hematopoietic Stem Cells
  • Umbilical Cord Blood Stem Cells
  • Placenta derived Stem Cells
  • Neural derived Stem Cells
  • Cardiac derived Stem Cells
  • Muscle derived Stem Cells
  • Tumor Stem Cells
  • Immune Cells are not the stem cells exactly. Because they can’t differentiate another cells.


3.Induced Pleuripotent Stem Cells(iPS or iPSCs)


Induced pluripotent stem cells (also known as iPS cells or iPSCs) are a type of pluripotent stem cell that can be generated directly from adult cells.


Leave a reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.